Bravade. Photo: Ville Paul Paasimaa.
Sat 12.12.2020 06.00 pm The House of Nobility, Helsinki
The Residency Series at the House of Nobility

The Dark is my Delight

Music from the Middle Ages until today

Aleotti – Bingeniläinen – Casulana – J. S. Bach – Dufay – Hille – Pärt

The recorder quartet Bravade:
  Sunniva Fagerlund
  Pauliina Fred
  Hanna Haapamäki
  Hanna Kangasniemi


Recorder quartet Bravade take us on a lyrical journey from medieval monasteries to today, while combining familiar Christmas carols and musical treasures that suit the holiday season. We approach the core repertoire of the ensemble, whose specialty is Renaissance recorders, from the female composer's perspective as we encounter music by Hildegard von Bingen as well as Vittoria Aleotti and Maddalena Casulana. 

Renaissance recorders can easily play organ music – the majority of organ pipes are in fact flue pipes, in which the sound is produced the same way as in a recorder. Now we can hear these "human organs" play e.g. the well-known chorale from Bach's Christmas Oratorio. 

Bravade is not restricted to old music, but it eagerly explores contemporary music. Da pacem Domine by Arvo Pärt offers a moment of pause in the concert. It is based on a Gregorian melody and written after the Madrid bombings in 2004. Bravade also premieres a lot, and in this concert, we will experience a new piece written for Bravade by German-Finnish Sid Hille, in which the Baroque counterpoint is combined with jazz and blues influences. 

Duration: 1 h 30 min (incl. intermission) ATTENTION! The length of the concert may shorten due to no intermission. 

Only just under half of the normal amount of tickets to the concerts of The Residency Series at the House of Nobility will be up for sale, and the seats for the audience are placed with a large enough distance from each other. During the concerts there will be no intermission nor sale of physical programs or food. Serial tickets won’t be sold at all. 

The doors to the House of nobility will open 30 minutes before the concert begins. The audience will be directed into the hall through two doorways according to their seats. Jackets can be left in the cloakroom or taken into the hall. On every seat there will be information about the repertoire and the performers, and the official program can be found on the concert’s website. 

We are happy to see you wearing a face mask!  And please do not arrive at the concert if you are feeling sick!

The ticket sale for The Residence Series of The House of Nobility begins August 20, 2020 at 9 am. 

Tickets 14,50/29/37 € (price according to the seat) including handling costs + 1 € service charge per order: Ticketmaster shops and  

Serial tickets will not be sold during the autumn.

Ticket inquiries: