Lorenzo Coppola. Photo: Igor Studio.
Fri 24.4.2020 07.00 pm The House of Nobility, Helsinki
The Residency Series at the House of Nobility

Forever Yours (CANCELLED)

Mozart and friends

J. C. Bach – Haydn – Mozart

Lorenzo Coppola, clarinet and leader
Finnish Baroque Orchestra


Mozart's Clarinet Concerto in A major was written in October 1791 for the clarinettist Anton Stadler, whose playing was much admired by his contemporaries. Johann Friedrich Schink writes in his Litterarische Fragmente on Stadler:
“Never should I have thought that a clarinet could be capable of imitating the human voice as it was imitated by you. Indeed, your instrument has such a soft and lovely a tone that no one can resist it – –.“

The clarinet was a rather new invention and due to various technical improvements made in the 18th century, the instrument with the sweet and mellow tone became a standard member of the orchestra around the time of Mozart. As a result of his musical friendship with Stadler, he wrote numerous chamber pieces for the clarinet.

The dramatic Symphony in G minor by Johann Christian Bach bears similarities with Mozart’s Sturm und Drang -inspired orchestral works. The young prodigy met “the London Bach” on one of his concert tours, and despite an age gap of 20 years, the two composers became close friends. Mozart wrote later of Bach, “I love him with all my heart, and I have the highest regard for him”.

Duration: 1 h 45 min (incl. intermission)

Pauliina Fred introduces the concert at the House of Nobility on 24.4. from 18–18.30.

Tickets 14,50/29/37 € (price according to venue): Ticketmaster’s points of purchase, Ticketmaster.fi and ticket sale at the door, whether there are tickets left.

Series tickets to all four Residency Concerts: 92/118 €. Series tickets are sold until the first concert on January 26th. 

Request a group discount: lippu@fibo.fi.