Antti Tikkanen. Photo: Jaakko Paarvala.
Tue 10.7.2018 07.00 pm Sonkajärvi Church, Sonkajärvi
Sonkajärvi Soi Festival


Favourite works by master composers

J. S. Bach – Vivaldi

Ismo Eskelinen, guitar
Antti Tikkanen, violin
FiBO Players


At the heart of this concert are Johann Sebastian Bach’s and Antonio Vivaldi’s concertos. The origin of the concerto is related to the development of the orchestra. In the 1670s, larger string ensembles started emerging in Rome and Bologna, and the music composed for them differed from the pieces written for smaller instrument ensembles. The contrapuntal polyphony of the early Baroque sonata was replaced by the performing interplay of the new orchestra compositions.

From there, it was a short step to the concerto grosso, a musical form based on alternation between the orchestra and the solo group. But it was Vivaldi who created the real success product, which became the base for all later Western concerto composing. Vivaldi’s concerto recipe contained a three-part form, virtuosic solos and a clear but flexible tonal structure. The idea of the concerto as an arena for the virtuoso, accompanied by an orchestra, was born. This concert presents the parts of Spring and Summer from what has become Vivaldi’s trade mark, the violin concerto suite the Four Seasons.

Bach was also one of Vivaldi’s admirers. He did not simply copy Vivaldi’s ideas, but he modified what he found interesting in the music to fit his own visions. Bach’s orchestral imagination culminated in the so called Brandenburg Concertos, whose original title was Six concerts avec plusieurs instruments, or Six concerts for several instruments. The fifth concert is on the program in Sonkajärvi. The solo group consists of traverso flute, violin and harpsichord – the keyboard concerto was a German invention, primarily developed by Bach.

Duration: 2 h (incl. intermission)

Tickets 25 € / members of Sonkajärvi Soi Association 20 €: Lipputoimisto’s points of purchase, and ticket sale at the door, whether there are tickets left.